CODE NAME BLUE TESTIMONIAL

It is seems late but I still want to do this. Also, it is my first time to review CNBLUE album in fact Code Name Blue is CNBLUE first major debut album.
Firstly, I need to tell that, even now, it is hard for me to believe if CNBLUE is Korean instead of Japanese whom I used to know for the first via their live street performance on summer 2009 and back when they released their first EP indie album Now or Never.
And now they about to rocking once again with the most self-contained materials sounds for BOICEs all around the world. Giving the most work to the emotional leader and burning guitarist respectively, Code Name Blue is ready to take over musical mainstream in this nearly late summer.
Contained 13 songs and 14 for first edition, combine by 8 previous big hit released single songs, 6 brand new song and 1 special version with total 11 self composed made by Yonghwa and Jonghyun.
Overall, this album offers fresh feeling whenever I listen to it, and despite that their previous songs who dominates the whole sound, the new one can say have more colours and softer than their usual song before. However, for the first listener Code Name Blue just gives something new and I am sure everyone will fallen their heart into it immediately.
And here I am now, I would like to lead you to travel one by one into Code Name Blue, brought to you by this cool and wonderful band named CNBLUE.

INTRO
Music by Jung Yonghwa
Arranged by Jung Yonghwa

To those who attended CNBLUE winter tours must be familiar with this sound because in that even this musical intro been heard during CNBLUE introduction. Composed and arranged by the leader who known with his interest in various instrument, this instrumental intro full of electrical synthesized and strong drum beat of Minhyuk. And this only the gate to step up to the CNBLUE’s world, are you ready?!?

IN MY HEAD
Music by Jung Yonghwa
Lyric by Kenji Tamai, Yoshifumi Kanamaru
Arranged by Kenji Tamai

In my head is tittle track for CNBLUE’s first Japanese major debut. This song composed by Yonghwa long before CNBLUE had major debut in Japan. Personally, even though I love their Japanese style of song the most, In My Head just surprise me by its heavy rock guitar and strong drum beat plus some electrical sound that a bit different with their indie songs.
The lyric tells about passion and strong dream they determined to make it reality no matter the cost will takes.

WHERE YOU ARE

Music by Jung Yonghwa
Lyric by Jung Yonghwa, Kenji Tamai
Arranged by Kenji Tamai, Rui Mamota

Where You Are was the tittle track for CNBLUE 2nd Japanese major debut singles and I would like to say as many too, that this song just sekuel of In My Head.
Yonghwa shown progress in this song and so the rest of the members. Keep beating the sound and with strong other instruments line marriying electrical sound Yonghwa best known in love with to be mixed, Where You Are just quite impressive song for this young band to keep searching their colour!
Has no particular differ with In My Head’s lyric, Yonghwa had deliver a message to the fans, that in despair, hope still waiting to be found and will give its help to find a way out, even just small, very small hope.

TIME IS OVER

Music by Jung Yonghwa Kosuke Oba
Lyric by Jung Yonghwa
Japanese Translate by Kosuke Oba
Arranged by Suzuki ‘Daichi’ Hideyuki

Tittle track for Code Name Blue, Time Is Over basically just has Yonghwa’s style so much. There was no polar difference with In My Head nor Where You Are but it can say softer and poppy than the previous two. Brings groovy sound rather than fierce rock Time Is Over is kind of refresher to becomes my favourite among those newly released.
The lyric itself telling how someone can grow even stronger whenever s/he takes advantage from obstacles lies next to them and become hero their own dream.

HAVE A GOOD NIGHT

Music by Jung Yonghwa
Lyric by Jung Yonghwa
Arranged by Kenji Tamai, Kousuke Noma

This should be the most surprising song in this album. Yonghwa seems really like to challange himself with various genres to made and play. A party song sung by a rock band? That only CNBLUE! I think this song also gain a lot of comments and responses from BOICEs, as I did too when first time I listen to it. The feeling is like, is this real CNBLUE? Or, how come they could come up with this kind of song?
Althoug I already familiar with the style because of TGI Friday Brand’s song thbt has similiar feeling but for the regular album who has no related with anything, Have a Good Night’s sound just surprising, still.
Moreover, the lyric quite a bit funny, it wasn’t sound like Yonghwa’s style at all who mostly telling about dream, passion and strength. Have a Good Night simply talking about how you enjoy and relax yourself after doing tight everyday routine scedule.
Anyway, this song wasn’t amusing at all and mature sound ( except, espresso double double shoots’s part, lol ). I suggest to listen to the music first then read the text, don’t do otherwise or you can’t stop laughing!

WAKE UP

Music by RYO, Jung Yonghwa
Lyric by Jung Yonghwa
Arranged by Kenji Tamai, Kousuke Noma

Wake Up was one of the side tracks for CNBLUE Japanese 3rd singles major debut. Still fresh in mind despite the released just within less a month previously, first time I listen to this song, I was little disappointed. Because the song approach different direction, I was expecting one more fierce song.
By the time, I realized CNBLUE still trying with various approach and Yonghwa as always success brought a new sound and delivered it well through Wake Up.
In lyric, Yonghwa tried a new style too, to be more natural as everyday life speaking. Put his favourite band in it for instance, Yonghwa messages the listener to be yourself and keeping your own ways and telling not to follow anybody else shoes.
Aside from everything, Wake Up just fun to rock out, with vocal lyric, up beat rhythms and Yonghwa’s powerful voice make Wake Up as pretty good combination.

NO MORE

Music by Lee Jonghyun, Jung Yonghwa
Lyric by Jung Yonghwa
Arranged by Kenji Tamai, Masahiro Tobinai

According to Yonghwa that recently he listen to the Boney M (who I listen to it recently too and it really recalling back my childhood memories back then my Dad often plying it.) No More has a bit taste of disco 70’s n 80’s that surely they want listeners to dance together. Once again CNBLUE surprise everyone with beyond the expectation track. Yet, maybe fans longing to this song and pay more attention because this was the first time ever Yonghwa and Jonghyun composed a song together. Even though they didn’t intend it at first.
No More also one from the few of CNBLUE’s song who talk about girl. However, I pay less attention on its lyric and focus on music only. And I dare say if No More is my next Get Away who I prefer to instrumental rather than a full song with lyric.

THESE DAYS

Music by Lee Jonghyun
Lyric by Kosuke Oba
Arranged by Suzuki ‘Daichi’ Hideyuki

This was the first song from the album that Yonghwa didn’t involved in any, lyric on music. Composed by Jonghyun on his 2nd grade senior high school, almost the same time when Yonghwa made Y,Why. These Days just help the listener to cooling down their feeling after 9 tracks nonstop up beats tempo song!
Unexpectedly, rather than focusing on guitar sound whether Yonghwa or Jonghyun’s like usual. My attention just went to Jungshin’s bass sound. Our maknee did really great job in this song. First time I realize too, his skill had grown a lot.
Actually, I was a bit expecting that Jonghyun will sung alone but hearing Yonghwa’s sweet falsetto on the bridge just make These Days even more wonderful. Yonghwa’s voice deliver another feeling on this song. Something like romantic yet saddened.
Basically, I pay less attention on ballad song but These Days throws me into another world as I’m start learning bass right now!

BLUE SKY

Music by Shusui Seiji Motoyama
Lyric by Kosuke Oba
Arranged by Yuichiro Hiroichi

Light, inspirational and emotional song and very first song on the list so far that no CNBLUE’s members hand on it. This also my very first time I like ballad song straight away.
Basically, I like the song who has acoustic guitar sound in it and this song sung by Yonghwa that known with his powerful and emotionally voice, solely in english so I don’t need to read the text to understand the content and that is plus! As I rarely pay attention to their lyric ( moreover when it comes to Japanese or Korean, I didn’t speak into ), whenever I listen to Blue Sky, its music and Yonghwa’s voice seem send me into the place where I can play my guitar under the blue sky surrounded by greenery and accompanied by breezy wind who blowing gently. Simply sitting alone and enjoying the nature on my own.

MR. K.I.A

Music by Jung Yonghwa, RYO
Lyric by Jung Yonghwa
Arranged by Kenji Tamai, Kousuke Noma

The beats heat up again by Mr. K.I.A. For now it will going to the song Yonghwa refer as warning to him and behalf of CNBLUE members to be humble even though nowadays, they are just a superstar with a lot of fanciest stuff to be received already.
Mr. K.I.A was one of b-side for CNBLUE’s first Japanese major debut single In My Head in 2011 and reached more than 100.000 sales of copied

WITH ME

Music by DAICHI
Lyric by DAICHI, Miyakei
Arranged by Suzuki ‘Daichi’ Hideyuki

Second song whom CNBLUE has no hand it.
For this song my intention just went into Yonghwa and Jonghyun’s guitars who marry with Minhyuk’s drumbeat and Jungshin’s low sound of bass line!
I would love if this With Me went as instrumental rather than full song with lyric.

GET AWAY

Music by Lee Jong Hyun, RYO
Lyrics by Nozomi Maezawa, agehasprings
Arranged by Kenji Tamai, Shunsuke Tsuri

First I listen to it, it just one of CNBLUE’s style of song and this also one of b-side of CNBLUE’s 2nd Japanese major debut singles Where You Are. but then again I just screaming out when I saw the credit to who was composed the song, Lee Jonghyun! my first impression toward him so far is ballad master and it should change from now on. i never ever imagine that Jonghyun will composed such a fierce song. Get away also the song that I prefer to be instrumental only rather than full song with lyric.

COME ON

Music by Lee Jonghyun
Lyrics by Jung Yonghwa
Japanese Translated Lyrics by Kenji Tamai
Arranged by Kenji Tamai, Rui Momota

Conclusion for the Code Name Blue and time to push the reply button immediately.

Come On was tittle track for CNBLUE’s 3rd Japanese major single album that released just previous weeks before Code Name Blue.

To this Come On I have feeling and I dare say, if, Yonghwa has Where You are as evolution for In My head, then Jonghyun has Come On to Get Away. According to Jonghyun that he composed Come On by imagining Yonghwa’s the way singing made Come On jus so impressive! one of my favourite song and stays in my playlist once I got the copy.

However, Come On actually different with CNBLUE’s previous up beat songs, it more close to hard rock and became the most intense song in this album.

Where you are (English version)
Music by Jung Yonghwa
Lyrics by Jung Yonghwa
Arranged by Kenji Tamai, Rui Momota

Overall, Code Name Blue just exactly what Yonghwa mentioned for several time, like plying your I-pod contained various genre and artisans, but in this case, CNBLUE is the only artisans. The guitarist duo have proved themselves that they had grown and as good as senior composers who ever helped them before. Meanwhile, the duo rythms instrumentalist also shown that they are , even though didn’t take part as composer or lyricist, their job not as easy as it looks. they two had shown how much their part token in this wonderful and freshly album.

Lastly, I would like to tell that no regret at all for you the beginners to try to listen to this cool band. and so, this post made for my tribute to CNBLUE’s bassist, LEE JUNGSHIN who celebrated his 21st birthday today, for his hard work to help this band achieved so many in short time and light up the rest of the member as Happy Virus.

Please take a note too that I am not expert, this only based my self-satisfaction and all dedicated to them who make my day full of energy everyday.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

posted by @tara_lee26

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “CODE NAME BLUE TESTIMONIAL

comments are most welcome

