JUNG YONGHWA INTERVIEW


JUNG YONGHWA NEW YEAR INTERVIEW

all41

“Until now, it seems as though I’ve been speeding on the highway.”

“Snake-year star” Jung Yong Hwa compared him and his band CNBLUE’s process of growth to “(riding) on a highway”. It’s been that robust.
After his debut in the drama “You Are Beautiful” in 2009, Jung Yong Hwa soon established himself in both acting and music. In 2011, he was the male lead for the drama “Heartstrings”. CNBLUE, the band where he is both the leader and the vocal, excelled along with FTISLAND from the same agency, amidst the Kpop market dominated by performance-centered idol groups. In Japan, the major debut album “In My Head” received the Gold Record certification, given by the Recording Industry Association of Japan to records that sell more than 100,000 copies. Last year, “Where you are” ranked first place in Oricon Daily and Weekly charts, becoming a significant part of Hallyu. They further broadened the scope of activity by performing in England, Los Angeles, and South America.
“This is the first snake year for me since debut. Because it feels like it’s my year, it seems auspicious and gives me much fervor. Looking back, being busy is what led to good results for me. In the new year, I won’t be capricious but try my best with a relaxed mindset.”
If you run for long, you may need to take a berak. Jung Yong Hwa showed confidence, saying he and CNBLUE are not there yet. Jung said, “It was also a burden that everything worked out so well all this time. I’d think often that I need a break.”
Jung Yong Hwa’s ambition for the new year isn’t small at all. The schedule is packed from the year’s beginning. A new album is set to release on the 14th. The first world tour is also under preparation.
Jung explained, “I want to perform in New York. I also want to be more established at places we haven’t been promoted such as China and build foundations to enter the Western market like our sunbae PSY.” Jung Yong Hwa’s aspiring to make 2013 the first year for CNBLUE to leap into the global market.
In 2012, all other members of CNBLUE appeared in dramas and made names for themselves. Jung Yong Hwa concentrated on writing and composing songs at this time. It was a time off that he requested from the agency as he thought it would help him write better songs in a comfortable environment. Thanks to this, Jung Yong Hwa gave songs for FNC entertainment’s hubae Juniel and AOA’s debut albums, gaining attention as a singer-songwriter.
“Although there are many idol groups, there is also the indie music industry that captivates a specific fanbase. I wish the two markets could interact together to forge an environment that both can thrive. I think that’s the direction for popular music to progress. In the new year, I also want to be busy singing, acting, and creating music. “

KPOP Stars Captivate the World

Q. How did you feel when “Where You Are” ranked No. 1 on the Oricon Chart?

I didn’t know until I found out at our fansite.  There were all these articles. I had heard it’s difficult to (rank top) on the Oricon Weekly Chart.But it’s an honor that we’ve reached there, for the first time in 41 years as an overseas band. I was happy when we topped the indies chart, and now that we’ve even topped the weekly chart, I’m very happy.

Q. How did you get into music?

Since I was in middle school, I began composing often, though I didn’t learn from anyone else. I somehow got my hands on composing programs and tried it myself. So I had a big dream of being in a band. My parents would tell me, since elementary school I liked being in front of others, getting attention from others. I remember I really liked the spotlight too. It wasn’t anything professional, but I practiced singing at home and I even had recording devices. I’d record songs on my own and trained myself a lot like that.

Q. Do you have any concerns?

My concerns at the moment. I don’t think I had some time to recharge myself because I kept working for the past 2.5 years.I came to think, perhaps I overworked myself a bit too much.

While working, I’d torment myself. Stressing out too much.  Until now I lived that way, so I’m thinking I need some time to recharge myself. It wasn’t like that before, but nowadays I’m often afraid of the things I need to do. I was never like that before. Maybe it’s because I’m aging year by year. I began to feel responsibilities and even fear regarding work. So I think I need some time to reenergize myself.

Q. Do you have another field you’d like to venture other than music?

I want to do everything I’m given with all of my heart. If i put myself out to do anything, it always returns to help me in the end. I sometimes think of these things: if I produce a team, I’d like to create one like this, (make them do) this type of music, set their fashion style in a certain way. Whenever I’m bored, I think of these things often. I’m always thinking about producing. If our agency releases a new group, I’d definitely like to present a song to them, music that fits them well. I want to direct the recording and complete songs with affection. I want to produce an album, too. Always.

Q. What do you think of CNBLUE members?

As for Jungshin, he has a very delicate heart. He has a very innocent side…innocent and delicate. Minhyuk has his goals and ambitions, but he always knows how to care about others. Jonghyun has a very manly personality but sometimes can seem like a kid. I think we all have different personalities.

Q. Are you happy?

I feel now that I really received my calling. I can’t imagine what I could have done if it wasn’t for what I’m doing. I’m not doing this out of pressure but because I enjoy it. I think it’s my destiny. I believe the best job is doing what I can enjoy the most.

Translation credit justjyh
Photo credit Boice for Japan
comments are most welcome

