CNBLUE STAR COLUMN PART 2

CNBLUE – WHY WE TOOK UP ACTING

star column part2

The four band member CNBLUE. In January 2010 debuted in the   nations of kpop industry. Debut single ‘I am a Loner’ swept number 1 in all music charts. They were the lead and breath of fresh air to the kpop industry. After CNBLUE deciding not only doing music but slowly started to become active in acting field. Leader Jung Yonghwa took first step before the other members. Lee Jonghyun, Kang Minhyuk and Lee Jungshin followed and started to dream in the same acting dreamed. Naver Star Column talked to them more about why are they choose this path and their future plans in acting.

Hello this is Jung Yonghwa. This is the second time we meet through Naver Star Column. Even though the weather turning warmer but it is still very cold, hopefully no one catch cold. Although we are busy for our promotions, we are still doing our best to take a good care for our health. Ha! We always want to present the best performances on stage so we do not have time for catch a cold. Haha… So let’s continue with our story of why we took up the challenge in acting to become an actor.

Yonghwa: CEO, you were so honest in your answers for the first part of the interview who gave me such a shock! I’m looking forward for your truthful answers today. (laugh)

CEO Han: You can’t deny that I was being honest in the first interview. Haha… I will try to be the same for the questions regarding acting too.

Yonghwa: Okay, first question. Was there any point in time that you felt CNBLUE is a great difficulty?

CEO Han: I think it isn’t a difficulty, but it’s rather as many times we have to make an important decision. The first decision, we had to make is, getting Yonghwa to join the auditions of ‘You’re Beautiful’. When the team loses the main vocal the band will experience fear and disruption, the other members will definitely feel some degree of fear and discomfort. That was what exactly you felt when you busy with your Japanese activities, was it? After much contemplation, we decided to send Yonghwa back to Korea and the other members continue Japanese activities.

Yonghwa: I remember then, after our concert in Japan ended, the script was sent over by mail. I thought, what was this? And they told me to return to Korea immediately.

CEO Han: Jung Yonghwa acted as Kang Shinwoo who received much love from female audiences. Actually the script writer opposed Yonghwa being casted as Shinwoo but the director highly recommended him. Looking back to the time, I think, Yonghwa had acted his character really well.

Minhyuk: Hm… honestly when Yonghwa was left to Korea for filmed his drama; we felt really helpless in Japan and didn’t know what to do. But without   Yonghwa we found ourselves gradually improved, especially when the main vocal was absent and Jonghyun had to do it alone.

Jonghyun: Ah… I was so frustrated, we didn’t have main vocal but our team had to continue our activities. I couldn’t let go off my hand but helped our team. We were trained day and night, practicing our songs really hard. Looking back now, it was a great experience for us to become the better CNBLUE in the future.

CEO Han: Haha… I’m always giving you tough problem to solve. Seems like placing you to face extreme situations is my style, because of my harsh style Minhyuk had cried before. Under the extreme conditions the feeling of accomplishing certain tasks will likely to be remembered for a long time. Do you agree with me on this point?

Minhyuk: Why did you talk about I had cried?

Yonghwa: Not only me, you had challenged the other members to go into acting too. Is there any special reason in doing so?

CEO Han: Do you remember that time? When I gather you as CNBLUE? All of you had told me that you didn’t want to do mainstream pop music. I saw all of you do not agree with mainstream but had a heart to compose your own music. I think there’s no future if you continue your way. Even if you hate to listen but you have to, even if you hate to do but you have to do certain things. You have to do them, like wise you have to think the same way in acting. Get out from your restriction you have set for yourself in music and challenge yourselves in new area, acting field. I hope that you can broaden your mindset through acting. Do you know what the most important things in order to create your own music as a band, to generate greater awareness? You have to gain people attention. Only when other starts showing you their love and attention, then you can do your own music. (Although I disagree with this point, but in my understanding about Korean industry, I can take it).

star column part2b

Jungshin: When did you start thinking of placing us to dabble in acting?

CEO Han: Probably it was in the beginning of ‘Hey You’ promotions. You probably unhappy with me then, looking back now, I made some mistake as a producer in that album. That was maybe the reason (why I decided to get you into acting). Of course I had discussed about acting with you all before ‘Hey You’. I wanted you to be more loved by your fans and could continue on doing music that you wanted to do. But definitely I know you were going to be unhappy with the idea of acting. I would have known.

Yonghwa: There many areas to explore other than acting, why did you specifically choose acting?

CEO Han: Ummmm… I do feel that the members can improve their appeal and charm through acting which will gives impact on the band’s influence. But if you can’t act and I made you to do so, that wouldn’t works out. I saw in you there are acting potential so I pushed you through. If you had variety talent, I would have encouraged you to go for variety shows. Though all of you still not used to with acting but I believe if you start to do well in it, your music career will be success as well.

Yonghwa: Then CEO, did you feel the possibility of us succeeding as actor was high right from the start?

CEO Han: No I didn’t, in fact I thought that Jonghyun and Jungshin couldn’t make it? The management team felt the same way. Haha… when Jonghyun start acting in ‘A Gentleman Dignity’ you could still hear him spoke bits of his satoori (dialect) that was mixed with standard Korean. Honestly I was really worried and I didn’t know that he will do quite well. The same things happen for Jungshin.

Jungshin: Honestly when I started filming ‘My Daughter Seoyoung’ I was pretty fearful. I know how my acting ability is looks like. So I went through many sleepless nights, keep on thinking about the script in order to have my line perfect. But after awhile, those who read the script without any initial strong perception of my acting[1] as well as the rest of the members give me much support, so I started to think positively. From episode 30 onwards, I began to be more comfortable with my acting skill.

Jonghyun: Many people said that you are lucky, I myself thinking that you are fortunate too. Haha…

Yonghwa: So, among us, who you were worried in doing acting the most?

CEO Han: That would be Jonghyun.  Because he is rigid and inflexible, he is someone who will not change if he feels it isn’t necessary.  If he personally wants to do something, his talent and skill will naturally improve. Just as same as Jungshin, even if the people around support him (in doing something) he will not unless he himself doesn’t want to.

Jonghyun: Getting rid my satoori is really difficult. I kept thinking that’s impossible to use satoori in drama filming and keep working hard on it. Need 2 months for me to managed mastering standard Korean language.

Minhyuk: When Jonghyun was trying really hard to get rid of his satoori, the other members also tried hard to motivate and pushed him. We kept telling him that his desire to change not enough to get into acting.

Jonghyun: The other members seem understand me pretty well and they motivated me subtly. Yonghwa told me before; if you refused I will take it up this role for you! The incredible thing was that after hearing those words I decided that I wanted to act badly and started working hard.

star column part2a

Yonghwa: How about me and Minhyuk?

CEO Han: Minhyuk is belongs to those who will shine after accumulating experiences so I got him to start with small role first. Yonghwa can act as lead role well, even if it’s something hard he can do it quite well. I want Yonghwa to experience and grow more. Everyone is doing well in the task and roles they are given.

Yonghwa: Lastly, do you have any expectation for us in the future? Please tell us truthfully.

CEO Han: I hope that all of you able to keep up your acting activities together but seemingly it would be quite difficult to fit your schedules. I am highly hoped you find good drama to act in. Re:Blue is a good chance for you to grown up as band. I think it is good for the band to have experiment with different music styles; especially I want you not to be afraid in a new thing. As a band I really wish you can leave legacy behind.

How was our story in challenging to be actors? The only thing we have not mentioned was that we are work and practicing hard.

We definitely still lacking in many areas but we (CNBLUE) has been busy trying to improve both in singing and acting. The last section of the three part interview will be CNBLUE’s chatting session. Do you want to read more about CNBLUE’s heart to heart talk? Please wait a little while.

star column part2c

Source Issue Daily

Credit naver news, the stupid

Posted by tara lee @blue plum blossoms decoded


[1] I have no idea with this line

comments are most welcome

