Standing on the Boundary of Sneakers and Suits, a 25 Years Old Youth JungYonghwa

yh mk fash2

In 2010, the year when dancing idols were the norm, a boy band appeared that sang and played instruments. With looks and live instrument skills, as well as the free spirits not seen in the existing male idol groups, CNBLUE captivated the whole music scene.

The four members have their own different charms but he is the one that received the most limelight. He’s the leader and the vocalist, who shouts “Make some noise!” on stage like a veteran. If the singer and the guitar player on stage can be likened to a pair of leather boots with untied shoelaces , the real him in person is like a pair of casual and comfortable sneakers.

The rebellious and tough look we saw on music programs is so gone. In a grey tee and jeans, he appeared in front of us with just the air of youthful freshness.

The fashion item that he likes most and is willing to spend regardless of price is sneakers. “I’m someone who just shops for all kinds of sneakers. I usually go to the select shops to try them on and then buy them. It’s the same with clothes. I never buy such things online.”

Recently, we noticed a newly added ear stud with The Rolling Stones logo in addition to the large, shiny cubic earrings we always saw. “As for accessories, I only care to wear earrings. I used to like rings and bracelets, but now I find it a nuisance wearing too many accessories. Wearing rings to play the guitar isn’t comfortable at all, so I gave up. Watches are collectibles, so I wear one once in a while.”

yh mk fash

 

Like guys of his age, he’s interested in fashion trend. But he says there are not many occasions requiring him to dress up, that’s why he always wears simple tees and jeans. It’s the reason why he actually anticipates the award shows when he can wear suits as much as he wants. He says with a smile, “I think I look most handsome in a suit.”

Jung Yong Hwa really has the tall and slim built so suitable for formal suits. “I don’t go for special physical training. I do exercise from time to time just to keep shape. I love eating, so I don’t diet or watch what I eat like other idols.”

Being able to keep a relatively slim built without dieting and having clean skin, he didn’t have any cosmetic surgeries in this era of abuse. His big eyes with the double eye lid creases that come and go are somehow more charming than some westerners’ prominent eyes. “I like my eyes. I especially like that mole under my eye, just because it’s unique. Only I have it. I don’t like my high cheek bones. Whenever I am laughing, the camera can’t help but capture my too obvious cheek bones.”

For someone who needs to wear makeup often for TV appearances, it’s easy to get pimples. But we are seeing his smooth and tanned skin only. “I do go for facial treatments but I am not peculiar about my skin at home. I am the kind that doesn’t bother to use hand cream unless someone cares to look after those things. ”

yh mk fash4

Compared to people of the same age, the 25-year-old started early in the society and has experienced so much more. It’s the age when one gets angry feeling angry, or hangs out with friends whenever feeling like it. All stars show their happy faces on TV when doing the various programs; he must smile sometimes without obvious reasons. He says there are other happy moments that he actually feels like laughing out loud.

“Concerts are the happiest time. When I sing, feeling the unison with the fans, hearing all the applause on my way down the stage . . . Everything of the concerts satisfies me and makes me happy.”

CNBLUE is preparing for their upcoming world tour. They have made a name not only in Korea but also the rest of the world. “My ultimate dream is to reach number one on the Billboard Chart, just like Psy sunbaenim who lets the whole world know and recognize Korea’s music.” When he says the above without any hesitation, his eyes were full of confidence, more than any other answers during the whole interview. But he quickly changes to a naughty tone, saying, “Let’s meet in the May concerts.” Pureness and professional passion in the same guy.

The Jung Yong Hwa who talks to us sincerely, his speech mixed with dialect here and there, is completely different from the tough and wild image he shows on stage. There is no pretense. Carrying the same aim he set for himself when he started as a rookie, he’s been walking his own road quietly. Let’s anticipate together: there will be such a day when CNBLUE’s music is played in New York Times Square, making people of the whole world crazy.

 

 

yh mk fash3jpg

Source mkfashion

Trans Credit justjyh

Posted by Tara Lee @blue plum blossoms decoded

comments are most welcome

