CNBLUE B-PASS Magazine June 2013 Interview

b pass mag june

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

b pass mag june10

– Speaking about CNBLUE’s single, we strongly imagine speeding up (up tempo song) till now. But ‘Blind Love’ is the first medium ballad. Why did you choose this kind of song as a title song?

Yonghwa: This time, we decided to change a concept, then we made a song like that. Our previous songs have offensive thought; the concept of this song is like Japan or J-Rock.

Jonghyun: I hope not only our fans but also more Japanese will listen to the song.

Jungshin: We usually choose a song in many songs composed by hyungs, so we rarely (but we did it this time) make a song after we decided the concept.

 

– Jonghyun-kun wrote the lyrics and composed ‘Blind Love’. When did you compose?

Jonghyun: January in this year? At first I put theme spring and made, so the lyrics included ‘Sakura’. It’s rare to include Sakura in the lyrics in Korea, but it’s common in Japan, so I changed.

 

– I see! I want to listen to CNBLUE’s sakura song.

Jonghyun: ‘Kimi ga kagayaku yo~ (you are shining~)’ like this kind of song. Is it nice?

Yonghwa: Honestly, I couldn’t catch the meaning from the first lyrics. haha

Jungshin: The new lyric is easier to sing. It adapts how to sing.

Jonghyun: If I have another chance, I’ll make sakura song. I kept the melody by imagining spring as it is; I wrote the lyrics what we can feel no matter what a season is. This song is a lost love song, but it is abstract.

b pass mag june5

– About Japanese lyrics, did you translated from Korean, or directly write in Japanese?

Jonghyun: I wrote it in Japanese. It doesn’t include so much difficult word, does it? It’s nothing much.

 

– Do you think ‘I can’ (for writing lyric directly in Japanese, despite the fact that Jonghyun is Korean)?

Jonghyun: But I wrote hiragana not kanji. haha

 

– What is a point of playing (the rhythms instruments)?

Minhyuk: The melody is calm and lyrics remain in our mind, so I was careful not to put too much out my strength in playing.

Yonghwa: Was bass difficult?

Jungshin: Yes it was, just what Minhyuk had said, this song is calmest among the entire single (CNBLUE had release so far in Japan). This love theme is the first in Japan. After all….. Not severe and sad, this has lyrics painful love, so I had trouble on part of expressing sound a little.

 

– The second song, ‘With Your Eyes’ is also composed by Jonghyun-kun. What is the kind of song With Your Eyes is?

Jonghyun: Melody is rock, but lyrics are expressing a life. He’s looking for a reason why I live, after all he knows what does it mean, but he doesn’t know…..I put such feeling into the song.

 

– Do you always think about your life?

Jonghyun: I suppose we surely think many things each ages. But a person like our age mentioned about life… (Sounds inappropriate since Jonghyun thinks he is too young to judge the life)  So I wrote positive elements in the lyrics. Like my age (usually thinks).

Jungshin: Solo guitar’s part of this song is really cool! During recording, Junghyun hyung was playing the guitar again and again next to me as he said how to play solo guitar. It was so cool and I recorded it on my phone, and I listened to it about ten times in a day after mastering, too. Although it has different feeling from solo guitar played by hyung till now (demo and the result is bit different), it has hyung’s color. I guess he challenged so much. It was completely manly sound.

b pass mag june8

– Jonghyun-kun, you was being praised very highly.

Jonghyun: (Shy smile) It was rather difficult. I play this song quite rapid, but originally I like playing slow. I don’t mean I don’t like playing rapid or I’m not good. Although I made solo parts by myself, I was playing as I felt, so is it rapid likes this?

Yonghwa: My guitar sound contain as backing there.

 

– Ho~ I want to tell one sound from another. And digital manufacturing is used on the edges just light.

Jonghyun: Yes it is. This has contained since demonstration step, so this is an arranged decided from first.

 

– The third song is composed by Yonghwa-kun, ‘Greedy Man’.

Yonghwa: When I was playing with a composer, suddenly the theme of this song hit me. I began to write, I could write smoothly. I completed it only a day. I wanted to write a unique person in the lyrics, so I described a sticky man.

 

– You often write the lyrics from things in yourself, how about this time?

Yonghwa: I don’t have such strong persistent, but I have a little. I exaggerated because of lyrics world, but whoever loves one, they have such feelings even little, I think.

Minhyuk: Yonghwa hyung starts from real world, Jonghyun hyung’s lyrics has abstract lyrics. Both are interesting.

 

– By the way, you did updated a photo of your new studio on CNBLUE’s twitter, where is that? Is that your own room, or a common use studio?

Yonghwa: That is each our studio in our office in Korea. Jonghyun and I have that for compose.

Jonghyun: Thanks for that, I can concentrate to compose better these days.

 

– Do Jungshin-kun and Minhyuk-kun have each?

Minhyuk & Jungshin: Yes we do.

Yonghwa: Because of limited number (the rooms); members who compose take a priority. If they began to compose, may add rooms or share.

b pass mag june6

– As far as I look at the photo, A PC in front of Yonghwa-kun showed sound data, do you often input data when you composed?

Yonghwa: When I make a demo, I often use my PC to input sounds of strings and synthesizer.

Jonghyun: I input all the sounds except guitar and piano. I guess such a way (how to compose) is the way I do more these days. I input drum and bass into a PC, I only play the guitar. Of course we play our instruments during recording.

Yonghwa: As we composed, Jungshin and Minhyuk often drop in.

Minhyuk: I don’t interfered atmosphere of the song, I tell frank impress ‘good’ or ‘not good’.

Jungshin: I have liked ‘Greedy Man’ since Yonghwa hyung had composed, so I felt wasteful that the song is b-side, not a title song.

 

– I’ll ask about world tour. It’s already started, didn’t it?

Jungshin: Yes it did, we already visited Taiwan (April 6th) and Singapore (April 13th). Once we have finished promotion in Japan, we’ll visit Thailand and Hong Kong, and Korea. It may continue even more countries.

Jonghyun: In Japan, We’ll change set list from world tour one and hold concerts in summer.

 

– What difference between world tour and Japan tour?

Yonghwa: in world tour, we’re mainly play Korean songs; basically we don’t sing in Japanese, we sing Japanese songs translated English or Korean.

Minhyuk: At first we research representative foods to use for (topic) MC in live, and we remember trendy words from some countries.

Jonghyun: Ah~ I can’t remembered many trendy words, I forget all….

JungshinS: ‘Thank you lah~’ this is Singlish.

Yonghwa: It’s Singaporean English. Seem ‘lah~’ added the end of word. ‘I think lah~’

 

-Speaking of world tour, I have seen at Korean article before, you might build a school in Africa by world tour’s profit.

Jonghyun: Yes we are. The first school is already built; I hope the second will be soon.

Yonghwa: I have been interested in charitable activity, but I didn’t know how. There is a person familiar with it around us, so we come to join it through our music activity.

Minhyuk: We couldn’t have visited yet, but we saw the photos.

Jonghyun: The name of the school is CNBLUE SCHOOL!

Yonghwa: Burkina Faso in Africa has a serious poverty; many children can’t go to school. So we collect fund-raising as we hold world tour and we ask fans to help, I hope we can help even a little.

Minhyuk: We are visiting many countries for tour, so I want to visit Africa this year.

b pass mag june9

-I heard Yonghwa-kun made the school song.

Yonghwa: Yes I did, I want to tell them ‘You aren’t alone’, so I composed with the theme ‘You&I’. Though children there may be not able to catch the meaning of lyrics yet, I created positive lyrics and melody like they can feel their hopes and future from music.

 

-I listened to the story associated the world now, as a contrary story, I’ll ask you about street live, the starting point of CNBLUE. It appears to come into fashion in Seoul these days. If you hold street live again, where and how do you want to hold it?

Yonghwa: If we hold it in Korea, it’s interesting to hold communicating with other bands in Hongdae where street live exactly come into fashion now.

Jonghyun: I want to hold street live very much. Wherever in Japan, Korea or other countries, I want to hold in a place we don’t know. It’s very fresh for us.

Minhyuk: I want to hold in front of people in a country that doesn’t know us at all. I think it’s more meaningful and interesting to be able to remember past feelings such as how we let people who don’t know us to turn around.

Jungshin: That’s how we consider where we are right now after major debut, we must really go to the place where people don’t know us to hold street live like atmosphere in the past.

Street live will cause traffic jam or trouble…. It’s if many people gather, haha

 

-Lastly. It becomes customary at B-PASS, request or ambition to staffs!

Yonghwa: Oh, it’ll be ambitions. To get rank 1 of Billboard chart and realization to hold live in (New York) Times Square! Please look forward to it!

b pass mag june9

Special Column ‘Greedy CNBLUE’

-By ‘Greedy Man’, Please tell me your ‘Greedy’ things.

Minhyuk: I think that desires change. Recently we moved into new office and house in Korea. In past no matter we would sleep together in the same room, but now we have our own rooms that have enough space, I feel happy to be able to take a rest calmly. I would have desires to other things in spite of I was unconcerned with a small space. But I’m full to have space for life more than materialistic desires.

Jonghyun: I think so. It’s the best in our house because we aren’t so often to have this thing. It’s most comfortable, so a room bears in our feelings, what a more several things go well.

Minhyuk: I really appreciate that we can visit Japan or foreign countries, but we have to stay in the hotel for a long time as we are in foreign countries for a long time. I felt relieved when we go back to our home.

Yonghwa: When we are in Korea, we usually stay our home except for our schedule. Perfectly indoor. In foreign countries, we don’t have enough time, so we usually stay a hotel after all. I always have a desire if we have more time, in Japan, too.

Jungshin: I want to go shopping more in Japan. I want to take for a walk in a town. Like indies days.

Minhyuk: I want to do so, but I want to go to a travel, the better. Wherever it’s as long as has the beautiful view.

Jonghyun: I want to go to hot spring. I love it!

Yonghwa: Near to the Mt. Fuji… Hakone!

Jonghyun: It sounds good!

Jungshin: We went to hot spring during arena tour last year. Can we go when we’ll hold tour this time? Actually to take a hot spring seems to be in the main winter, but it’s not connected with us, haha

Jonghyun: Talking of my materialistic desire, I often buy a wrist-watch. Because I’m a man. I buy it when I feel that it fits me, I’m not so particular.

Yonghwa: I like watch, too. We are 4 members like it, right? I suppose all men like it. Even if I put up with buying clothes, I want to buy a wrist-watch. Can women understand this feeling?

Minhyuk: Many men invest in a car or a wrist-watch. What I can say first, my watch is the cheapest of all us, haha

Yonghwa: Who has most expensive watch…. It’s secret.

Minhyuk: Mine is the cheapest.

Yonghwa: We have already heard! haha About a number, I have most watches? But a few.

Jonghyun: Talking of a desire about time, what do we want to do? For example, if we are general persons, what do we want to do?

Jungshin: If I have girlfriend, I will go out on a date such as going to sea or sauna.

Yonghwa: I want to be a business owner. It had been my dream.

Minhyuk: I want to be an office worker.

Jonghyun: It’s like you!

Yonghwa: A public worker! Minhyuk should be a public worker.

Jonghyun: Such as a complaint officer for citizens.

Jungshin: Such as patrolling.

Yonghwa: When it becomes at 6 pm, you quickly leave the office, hahaha you only work during certain time.

Minhyuk: I have a good or not, I properly do what I can….

Jungshin: I want to work in a sitting position.

Yonghwa: Ah, how about a person in entry gate, in the immigration bureau.

Jonghyun: But you don’t like a work in a standing position, do you?

Yonghwa: No, it is in a sitting position.

Jungshin: Umm~ but it seems to be bored. How about Jonghyun hyung?

Jonghyun: I…..let’s see, I want to do anything, whatever I hit on. I think it’s a luxurious desire.

 

 b pass mag june1

b pass mag june3

Scanned by Rin

Trans by Satsuki @ cnboice

Edited and Posted by Tara Lee @ bpb decoded/cnboice

 

2 thoughts on “CNBLUE B-PASS Magazine June 2013 Interview

  1. Pingback: [Photo+Interview] [6/2013] B-Pass Magazine | ALLINBLUE4

comments are most welcome

