Tara Lee, Fangirl, Fanwar and Media Playing

So, this is now happening in my twitter for almost a week already (or probably longer I just did not notice it before)

Ever since I follow EXO in early 2014, I made my timeline colorful with all Kpop stuff as well as divers friend because only right now, I found out that most of my friend I got from EXO, they were all either Kpop fans or had much knowledge about Kpop than I do—of course.

Before my timeline is only CNBLUE related news, be it friends or news from other fanbase, I did follow some of Korean portal news of course to keep myself update with CNBLUE but then again, it was only focus matter. I used to focus on CNBLUE only thus I only have Boice friend, but now, no more.

As I said earlier, my friends now were as colorful as my timeline—not that I’m complaining though. With various friends I have right now, the thing I know about fangirl’s life is different, safe to say, it surprising me because all the nonstop fanwar. And my question is, is that really necessary?

Personally? Of course not. 😄

To me, fangirl means new friends to hang out—even mostly on twitter only—and share the same excitement about music we like. But apparently the point of view other fans are different—and I can’t do anything about it, sadly.

So, what does media had to do anything with this fangirl and fanwar stuff? Well, fanwar happen as fangirl’s respond for the news relied by media of course. And as my experience of running CNBLUE’s fanblog for almost three years, there quite difference about Korean media and Japanese media when it comes to entertainment industry.

To Korean media, whenever there idol made comeback, it was the time for them to open all the rumors from the wrapper. To those who is blunt or clumsy they would trapped by the situation the host or media created and of course, it would led to another fanwar.

As for Japanese, comeback means they could provide their readers or audiences behind the scenes every song the artist made.

Thus far, I almost never found about Korean media that talked about CNBLUE’s music (well I took CNBLUE as example because that what I know the difference what Korean and Japanese article or TV show wrote about them). All I found was the rumor and gossip from each member.

I almost never know the story behind their Korean songs (almost all of them that only released in Korea). And on the contrary, I know every story about their Japanese song, each of them. There times when I bored reading Japanese translation because one album CNBLUE could be featured in at least 3 magazines with the same topic, MUSIC! How the idea came up to them, how they arranged the song, how the other member contributed to the song (well, mostly CNBLUE’s song composed by Yonghwa and Jonghyun) or is there any special touch up about the song. They also ask what strongest point from each song.

I wonder why Korean media could not do the same. Instead of talking crap, why did not they started to educated their reader or audiences with meaningful stuff?

Then my friend said to me,

“Korean idols are not all composing their song, and as far as I know there no media focus to cover Korean music globally (published in both Korean and English). Maybe there media that only focus on music like Japanese does but you’ll never know because they’re not popular. What did the idols should talk about when they have no idea about what they’re singing or how the song producing? CNBLUE could talk much because they knew. And I think Korean will run out of topic if they insist to do like Japanese does. Japanese should divers their focus because they would not run out of topic. There loss of musician offered them to write down their story in their editorial.”

Upon hearing this, I realize, what she said was true. Sadly, but that’s the truth. All of musical activity which purely sold music had rare chance to be covered by major media.

One of my friends once flew all the way from France only to attend music festival in Korea, she said, there actually bunch of talent musicians in Korea and various genre too (because all this time I only think Korean only could sing a dance music) but when I try to search any information of the event. There only few and that was not even a headline unlike any event that Kpop idols joined the line up. And the audience too, she said, not many people came.

I actually hope that musician will have a place in Kpop industry (which I thought unlikely, take a look CNBLUE and Juniel) and make the sound of Kpop move divers than coloring by fanwar and controversy.

comments are most welcome

